Kevin J. Tracey, President of the Feinstein Institute, is Inducted into the Long Island Technology Hall of Fame

MANHASSET, NY – Kevin J. Tracey, MD, president of The Feinstein Institute for Medical Research, was inducted into the Long Island Technology Hall of Fame (LITHF) on Wednesday night. He was selected for his personal accomplishments and the accomplishments of researchers at the Feinstein Institute.

“I’m honored to be inducted into the Long Island Technology Hall of Fame and am proud of the research conducted at the Feinstein Institute,” said Dr. Tracey. “We work every day at the Feinstein to study disease so that we can cure disease, and this kind of recognition is very much appreciated.”

The Feinstein Institute for Medical Research is comprised of more than 1,500 staff from across the North Shore-LIJ Health System, which touches the lives of approximately four million people annually. Feinstein researchers study disease to cure disease. Specifically, Feinstein scientists collaborate with each other and clinicians from throughout the North Shore-LIJ Health System to uncover medical discoveries and ultimately develop new therapies and diagnostics. The goal is to improve the way medicine is practiced around the world.

In addition to serving as president of the Feinstein Institute, Tracey is also president of the Elmezzi Graduate School of Molecular Medicine. He is a neurosurgeon by training and a leader within the field of inflammation research.

Other 2012 LITHF inductees are Samuel H. Aronson, PhD, director at the Brookhaven National Laboratory, and Paul Richman, former chair and CEO of Standard Microsystems. LITHF inductees are selected impartially from among individual nominees submitted by corporate, research, and academic institutions, as well as colleagues, peers, or other personal associates. The LITHF Nomination and Awards Selection Committee then determines the most qualified inductees according to intellectual acumen, lifetime achievement, overall impact on the advancement of science and technology, national prominence, contributions to Long Island’s economic development and commitment to the Long Island community.

The induction was celebrated at an evening reception on March 7 at the Garden City Hotel, Garden City, NY.  All proceeds of the event are donated to the Kenneth A. Miller LITHF Scholarship Fund at College of Engineering and Applied Sciences (CEAS) of Stony Brook University. Kenneth A. Miller is the founder of the event.

About The Long Island Technology Hall of Fame (LITHF)

Now in its eleventh year, the objectives of the Long Island Technology Hall of Fame (LITHF) are to recognize, honor and preserve the contributions, exceptional accomplishments, and dedication of historical figures or current leaders in science or technology who have had, or are having, an impact on Long Island.

About Kevin J. Tracey, MD

Kevin J. Tracey, MD, received his BS in chemistry from Boston College in 1979 and his MD from Boston University in 1983. Dr. Tracey co-chaired the first international scientific congress addressing “The Inflammatory Reflex,” a Nobel Conference in 2004 of the Karolinska Institute, and co-chaired the “First HMGB1 Cytokine World Congress” in 2003 in Saltsjobaden, Sweden. Dr. Tracey is a recipient of the Honorary Doctorate at Karolinska Institute. He is editor-in-chief of Molecular Medicine, and advisory editor of The Journal of Experimental Medicine. His critically acclaimed book, Fatal Sequence: The Killer Within, recounts the hospital course of a young patient with sepsis who changed his life, and the series of remarkable events that shaped his research.

About The Feinstein Institute for Medical Research

Headquartered in Manhasset, NY, The Feinstein Institute for Medical Research is home to international scientific leaders in Parkinson’s disease, Alzheimer’s disease, psychiatric disorders, rheumatoid arthritis, lupus, sepsis, inflammatory bowel disease, human genetics, leukemia, neuroimmunology, and medicinal chemistry. The Feinstein Institute, part of the North Shore-LIJ Health System, ranks in the top 6th percentile of all National Institutes of Health grants awarded to research centers. For more information:

Media Contact:
Emily Ng
(516) 465-2752